New Jersey joins 9 other states/districts in having a mandatory ‘sick leave’ law; a notion that will allow certain workers the option to respond to life’s curve balls without fear of reprisal from their employers. The other states are: Connecticut, California, Massachusetts, Oregon, Vermont, Arizona, Washington, Rhode Island, Maryland and Washington, DC. New York City also passed a sick leave law in 2014.
There had been prior resistance by employers to the affordability of paid sick leave days. But under NJ’s new governor, Phil Murphy, concern for healthy workers eclipsed employer costs. With expectations of increased productivity and a stronger economy, the law will take effect in six months. What a difference a day makes!
While the law will allow employers to black out certain days, the quality of life for employees who previously has no options will change. They will be able to:
Stay home when they are sick – instead of spreading germs in the workplace;
Stay home to take care of a family member;
Take time off to attend school conferences/meetings;
Take time off to recover from domestic violence.
This law will impact approximately 1.2 million NJ workers. It does not apply to public employees, construction workers under contract, or per diem hospital/health care workers. This law will require employers to offer 1 hour of sick leave for every 30 hours worked. Workers can use up to 40 hours (5 full days) per year.
“Do to others as you would have them do to you.” Luke 6:31(NIV)
In all you do…B. Lifted!